A permit must be obtained from the Newington Fire Department or a Town Forest Warden in order to have an open fire burning on any property.
The permit to kindle a fire is only valid for one day, unless a seasonal permit has been issued, and the permit can only be obtained on the same date of the kindled burn.
No burning allowed between 9:00 am and 5:00 pm, unless actively raining or there is a significant amount of snow cover at the site of the burn. If the rain stops, permitee must extinguish the fire immediately. Permits may be rescinded or not issued if anticipated weather is unfavorable. Unfavorable weather conditions shall be determined by the Newington Fire Department or the State of New Hampshire Fire Warden. If permitted fire is declared a nuisance by the town Fire Warden or his designee, the fire shall be extinguished. Also, if any complaints are received due to the kindled fire, the permit may be suspended and the fire ordered extinguished.
Permits shall be issued to the landowner or person(s) having written permission from the landowner. Permitee must be 18 years of age or older.
Materials being burned shall be at least 50 feet from any structure, highway or right of way (excluding cooking fires). No accelerants, tires, tubes, plastics, shingles, foam or rubber are to be used in the material being burned. Materials must be clean, ordinary combustibles. Brush cannot exceed 5 inches in diameter.
All open fires must be constantly attended until completely extinguished. (A buried fire is NOT considered extinguished). An extinguished fire no longer emits smoke, heat, or flames. Permitee must have proper suppression equipment to maintain control of the fire at all times. A water hose, shovel or rake, and a bucket of water should be available at the fire.
If fire escapes from control, permitee may be held liable for payment of damage to the property of another; payment of suppression costs to the Town of Newington and/or assisting fire department(s); prosecution for failure to comply with regulations; and any fines from the State of New Hampshire and/or the Town of Newington.
If questions, please call the Fire Department at 436-9441, or go to www.nhdfl.org .